GMaP Region 5 Resources

New to the GMaP Network? Learn more about the program and our resources on our GMaP Region 5 Fact Sheet.


*NEW*GMaP Region 5 Research Stimulus Award
The purpose of the GMaP Region 5 Research Stimulus Awards is to support a range of cancer research activities. Applications are strongly encouraged from cancer investigators who are underrepresented in the biomedical sciences according to NIH guidelines for underrepresented populations or cancer disparities researchers (graduate students through junior faculty). We welcome applications from any cancer discipline and institution across the Region 5 region (WA, OR, CA, AK, HI, American Samoa and Guam). The goal of the Research Stimulus Awards is to stimulate new research, with all expenses to be spent/invoiced by July 31, 2021.

Funding is available up to $1,500.
Applications are being accepted through March 31, 2021.


*NEW*Request for applications:GMaP Pilot Awards
The GMaP Region 5 program is pleased to announce the availability of pilot funds to generate feasibility data for larger research/education projects for early stage investigators in GMaP Region 5 focused on Cancer and Cancer Health Disparities (CHD) research. Pilot projects must fall into at least one of the following categories: (1) Population-based Research, (2) Basic Science Research, or (3) Clinical/Translational Research.

  • Applicants may request up to $10,000 (total costs).
  • Pilot funding supports a 12-month funding period only (May 1, 2021-April 30, 2022

Applications due March 31, 2021.

More information here


Apply today! GMaP Region 5 Expert grant review Feedback from seasoned cancer researchers can be invaluable to early stage and new investigators submitting a competitive grant application.

  • Applicant must be applying for one of the following grant mechanisms F31/K01/K02/K07/K08/K23/K24/K25/K99 or R01/R03/R15/R21/R34.
  • Applicant must be ready to submit a complete final draft of the application (except budget) including biosketches and an abstract to be circulated to potential reviewers.

 More information about this resource can be found here.  


Funding Opportunities

—->Learn about NCI’s Continuing Umbrella of Research Experiences (CURE)!


Connect with GMaP Partner Institutions

Alaska
Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium

Sarah Nash (shnash@anthc.org)
Hawaii
University of Hawaii Cancer Center

Kevin Cassel (Kevin@cc.hawaii.edu)
Guam
University of Guam

Rachael Leon Guerrero (rachaeltlg@triton.uog.edu)
American Samoa
American Samoa Community Cancer Coalition

Va’a Tofaeono (vtofaeono@cancercoalition.as)
Oregon
Oregon Health & Science University

Charles Thomas (thomasch@ohsu.edu)
Washington
University of Washington
Washington State University
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

Kemi Doll (kdoll@uw.edu)
Clemma Muller (clemma.muller@wsu.edu)
Christopher Li (cili@fredhutch.org)
California
Cedars-Sinai
City of Hope
San Diego State University
Stanford Cancer Institute
University of California, Davis
University of California, Irvine
University of California, Los Angeles
University of California, San Diego
University of California, San Francisco
University of Southern California
Charles Drew University of Medicine and Science 

Jane Figueiredo (Jane.Figueiredo@cshs.org)
Lorna Rodriguez (lorrodriguez@coh.org)
Hala Madanat (hmadanat@sdsu.edu)
Lisa Goldman Rosas (lgrosas@stanford.edu)
Luis Carvajal Carmona (lgcarvajal@ucdavis.edu)
Sora Park Tanjasiri (tanjasir@hs.uci.edu)
Annette Maxwell (amaxwell@ucla.edu)
Elena Martinez (e8martinez@health.ucsd.edu)
Scarlett Lin Gomez (Scarlett.Gomez@ucsf.edu)
John Carpten (carpten@usc.edu)
Aziza Lucas Wright (wrightaziza@aol.com)

Written by